Michigan E-waste Law
Michigan Governor Granholm signed HB 6714-6715, SB 896-897 into law on Dec 26, 2008. Under this law, consumers, small business dropping off 7 or fewer units per day may recycle covered electronic devices (CED) for free. Producers must pay for the collection, transportation and recycling. Program collection must start by April 1, 2010.
The bills impose a new annual registration tax of $2,000 to $3,000 on manufacturers of computers, including related equipment and video display devices sold in Michigan. The tax could increase after 2015. In addition, the legislation created a new regulatory regime mandating that the manufacturers establish programs in which they take back used units and recycle the parts.
There is currently no disposal ban but it will be under review by an Advisor Council